### **James Ackerman**

### Professor Emeritus, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

# 2001 Balzan Prize for the History of Architecture (including town planning and landscape design)

For his outstanding work on the history of Renaissance architecture which contributed to the modern approach to architectural history based on a systematic critical examination of written and visual sources.

### **Institutions Administering Research Funds:**

Centro Internazionale di Studi di Architettura "Andrea Palladio" (CISA) American Academy in Rome

Adviser for the Balzan General Prize Committee: Dmitry O. Shvidkovsky

## 1. James Ackerman Award – Centro Internazionale di Studi di Architettura "Andrea Palladio"

Part of the second half of the Balzan Prize received by James Sloss Ackerman in 2001 went to the creation of the James Ackerman Award in the History of Architecture, made possible by Ackerman's donation to the Centro Internazionale di Studi di Architettura "Andrea Palladio". The James Ackerman Award was first conferred in 2005 for the publication of an important, original work in any period in the history of architecture by one or two scholars of any nationality who had not yet published any books. The texts selected by the Jury presided over by Ackerman himself were published in a series created for this purpose. The first James Ackerman Award was awarded to Leo Schubert for his book La villa Jeanneret-Perret di Le Corbusier, 1912. La prima opera autonoma, which was published in May 2006. The 2006 award went to Valeria Cafà for her book Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne di Baldassarre Peruzzi, which was published in May 2007. The winner of the 2007 award was Angela Dressen and her book, Pavimenti decorati del Quattrocento in Italia, was published in May 2008. In 2008, the Prize was awarded to Federica Rossi for her book Palladio in Russia: Nikolaj L'vov, architetto e intellettuale russo al tramonto dei Lumi, published in 2010. The 2010 prize was won by Daniel McReynolds for his book Palladio's Legacy. Architectural Polemics in Eighteenth-Century Venice, published in May 2011. In 2011 the Prize was awarded to David Rifkind for his

book The Battle for Modernism: Quadrante and the Politicization of Architectural Discourse in Fascist Italy, which was published in May 2012. The final prize, which was awarded in 2012, went to Matthew A. Cohen, whose volume Beyond Beauty. Reexamining Architectural Proportion through the Basilicas of San Lorenzo and Santo Spirito in Florence was published in 2013.

Members of the selection board included James S. Ackerman (President); Arnaldo Bruschi (1928-2009), past President of the CISA Scientific Council; Howard Burns, President of the CISA Scientific Council; Guido Beltramini, Director, CISA; Fernando Marías, Director of *Annali di architettura*, the CISA journal and two members of the CISA Scientific Council.

### 2. Summer School in Applied Palaeography - American Academy in Rome

The remainder of the second half of the Balzan Prize awarded to James Ackerman was destined to the creation of a Summer School in Applied Palaeography at the American Academy in Rome. The program focused on the analysis of texts from Roman antiquity to the Renaissance in Europe, and was consistent with Ackerman's way of studying Renaissance architecture "based on a systematic critical examination of written and visual sources", as the motivation for the Balzan Prize reads. The courses were offered free of charge to graduates and scholars; they did not necessarily have to be Americans, but were chosen according to their curricula. For six weeks they were the guests of the American Academy in Rome, one of the oldest American institutions abroad. Directed by Christopher S. Celenza, Professor of European history at the University of Michigan, the summer courses in Applied Palaeography took place in 2002, 2003 and 2005. Among the participants of the 2002 Summer School: Sandra Chang, Walter Cupperi (today at the Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa), Federica Ciccolella, Frederick Lauritzen and Dana Munteanu. Other organizers and participants were (in 2003) Karl Appuhn, Antonio Ciaralli, Christine Huemer, Melissa Bullard, Armando Petrucci, John Petruccione, Charles M. Radding, Ingrid Rowland and Fabio Troncarelli; (in 2005) Lorenzo Calvelli, Eileen Jaxcsens, Jennifer Knust, Christine Kralik, Manu Radhakrishnan and Sonia Sabnis. Maria Pia Blasi (Biblioteca Nazionale di Roma) and Don Faustino Avagliano (Abbazia di Montecassino) facilitated the scholars' work on the ancient manuscripts.

### **Ackerman Prizewinners:**

Valeria Cafà Matthew A. Cohen Angela Dressen Daniel McReynolds David Rifkind Federica Rossi Leo Schubert

### **Publications:**

- Cafà, Valeria. Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne di Baldahssare Peruzzi: storia di una famiglia romana e del suo palazzo in rione Parione. Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2007.
- Cohen, Matthew. Beyond Beauty. Reexamining Architectural Proportion through the Basilicas of San Lorenzo and Santo Spirito in Florence. Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2013.
- Dressen, Angela. *Pavimenti decorati del Quattrocento in Italia*. Marsilio. Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2008.
- McReynolds, Daniel. *Palladio's Legacy*. *Architectural Polemics in Eighteenth-Century Venice*. Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2011.
- Rifkind, David. *Battle for Modernism:* Quadrante *and the Politicization of Architectural Discourse in Fascist Italy.* Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2012.
- Rossi, Federica. *Palladio in Russia*. *Nikolaj L'vov architetto e intellettuale russo al tramonto dei Lumi*. Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2009.
- Schubert, Leo. La villa Jeanneret-Perret di Le Corbusier, 1912. La prima opera autonoma. Vicenza-Venezia: Marsilio, 2006.

### Link:

www.premioackerman.it