

International Balzan Foundation

Press Release – 21 November 2024

2024 Balzan Prize Awards Ceremony at the Quirinale Palace in Rome

750,000 Swiss Francs (€ 800,000; \$870,000; GBP 670.000) for each of the four annual awards Half of the amount must be destined by the winners to research projects

The Balzan Prizes 2024 were presented today to:

John Braithwaite (Australia) for Restorative Justice,

Lorraine Daston (Germany/USA) for History of Modern and Contemporary Science,

Michael N. Hall (Switzerland/USA) for Biological Mechanisms of Ageing,

Omar Yaghi (USA) for Nanoporous Materials for Environmental Applications.

The Ceremony took place in the presence of the President of the Italian Republic Sergio Mattarella, in the majestic setting of the Quirinale Palace in Rome, where, in the magnificent Great Banquet Hall, the Presidents of the International Balzan Foundation 'Prize', Maria Cristina Messa, and 'Fund', Gisèle Girgis-Musy, gave the official speeches, while each prizewinner, presented by the Chair of the General Prize Committee, Marta Cartabia, gave a speech of acceptance and thanks.

The Balzan Prize award ceremony is held in alternate years in Rome, in the presence of the President of the Republic, and in Bern, in the presence of the President of the Swiss Confederation or a member of the Federal Council, in accordance with the Foundation's dual Italian-Swiss nationality.

Holding the ceremony in the presence of the President of the Italian Republic in the Palazzo Quirinale, the most important institutional seat of the Italian Republic – called "the home of Italians" by past President Carlo Azeglio Ciampi about twenty years ago – is a sign of the particular relevance given to the message of concord between cultures and nations of which the Balzan Prize is the bearer.

The 2024 Balzan Prize for Restorative Justice was awarded to **John Braithwaite** 'For his contribution to the theoretical development and dissemination of the practice of contemporary restorative justice, for his commitment to the service of institutions and social construction, for his work of high scientific and editorial dissemination, for his dedication to the cultural growth of the youngest generations in the values of restorative justice'.

For the History of Modern and Contemporary Science, **Lorraine Daston** was recognized 'For the extent, originality and variety of her work, which has drawn on a wide range of scientific fields to highlight the mental representations and values underlying research activity; for the number and quality of her articles and books, which have opened up new paths in the history and epistemology of sciences; for her contribution to the training of generations of researchers; and for her support - as head of prestigious institutions - for innovative research projects.'

Michael N. Hall received the award for Biological Mechanisms of Ageing 'For groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of the molecular mechanisms regulating cell growth. Michael Hall discovered two proteins, TOR1 and TOR2, that regulate cell growth and metabolism in response to nutrients. These play a central role in the ageing process and in the development of ageing-related diseases such as cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease.'

In the field of Nanoporous Materials for Environmental Applications, **Omar Yaghi** received the Prize 'For groundbreaking contributions to the discovery and development of nanoporous framework materials, and advancing their applications in carbon capture, hydrogen storage, and water harvesting from desert air. Yaghi developed foundational design principles and innovative synthetic methods, creating two extensive classes of nanoporous materials: metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) and covalent organic frameworks (COFs). These pioneering materials are now at the forefront of global efforts to tackle critical sustainability and environmental challenges facing our planet.'

The amount of each of the four annual Prizes is 750,000 Swiss Francs (€ 800,000; \$870,000; GBP 670.000). The Prizewinners must destine half of the amount to finance research projects that are carried out by young scholars or scientists.

The 2024 Awards Ceremony is followed by the **Balzan Prizewinners Interdisciplinary Forum** at the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (Palazzo Corsini) on Friday 22 November. The Forum is an occasion for public debate on major topics related to the subjects of this year's prizes, and will be **live streamed on www.balzan.org starting from 10.30 a.m.**