Fondazione Internazionale Balzan "Premio"

Milan, 10 April 2025

The undersigned members of the International Balzan Prize Foundation Board and of the Balzan General Prize Committee share the concerns expressed by ALLEA (The European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities) in its statement of 27 February, which emphasises that cuts in scientific research and the suspension of funding for universities and research institutes in the United States have global repercussions, negatively impacting transatlantic collaboration among scientists and scholars. The International Balzan Foundation "Prize" joins the more than 40 European research institutes and academies that have signed this appeal to support academic freedom, a fundamental element of democratic societies, and hopes that the virtuous circle based on the exchange of data and ideas, which for decades has been the basis of scientific progress, continues on its path towards the global improvement of the living conditions of humanity.

For the Board of the Balzan Prize Foundation:

Maria Cristina Messa (President), Laura Laera (Vicepresident), Marco Cameroni, Paola Germano, Alberto Quadrio Curzio.

For the General Prize Committee:

Marta Cartabia (Chair), Sebastian Bonhoeffer (Vice Chair), Peter Kuon (Vice Chair), Nanci Adler, Frances Ashcroft, Sierd Cloetingh, Paolo de Bernardis, Børge Diderichsen, Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco, Nathalie Heinich, Massimo Inguscio, Alberto Mantovani, Helen Margetts, Christoph Riedweg, Maria Strømme, Erika von Mutius, Tristan Weddigen.

The International Balzan Prize Foundation, based in Milan (Italy), was created in 1957 to promote culture, the sciences, and the most meritorious humanitarian initiatives in the cause for peace, and fraternity among peoples. The Balzan Prizes, assigned by the General Prize Committee, which establishes the subject areas and decides on the winners from among the nominations entered by the world's most important international cultural and scientific institutions, are some of the most prominent academic prizes in the world. The General Prize Committee is composed of members of international renown from all over Europe, who are selected from among the most distinguished figures in the humanities and sciences.